Oro, Plata, Mata, Rec – Zachary Riskin – 093138

 


         I really enjoyed the way that movie was presented, and I can say that this movie is my favorite so far in class by a long shot. Everything from the POV, to the dialogue, to the actress (ahem ahem), to the plot loopholes, to the horror I felt all contributed to a thrilling ride that had me rambling to my friends afterwards, begging them to watch a horror movie with me. 

Only upon writing this blog entry did I realize that the name of the movie is “Rec” and not “Wreck.” That name makes much more sense. I initially thought that it was called wreck basically because everyone inside the building is just so screwed that it’s just one massive wreck. When I found out five minutes ago that the movie is actually spelled as “Rec,” I realized that it was talking about the first-person POV technique used by the movie, which was delivered in the form of a camera. The first-person POV really immersed me into the film because it brought me up close and personal to the horror. My perception was limited to what the camera could see, and as such I was exposed to the same horrors and lack of knowledge that the characters were exposed to. This left with an apprehensive feeling throughout the movie, dreading when the next half-eaten face was going to appear and bite someone for no apparent reason.

 

Throughout the film explanations for the horrific happenings are slowly given, such as how the disease spreads through saliva and that the dog was one of the first to be infected in the building. While this provides with a little bit of knowledge into what is happening, it is extremely lacking. Many things, such as the connected between the zombies and the possessed girl in the penthouse are never explained in the movie. For me, this just added to the overall excitement of the film. This lack of knowledge, combined with the first-person POV really put me into the shoes of the characters who knew nothing about what was happening. Some people may regard this lack of explanation as plot holes, but for me they just enhanced the overall experience of horror, helplessness, and the sense of entrapment. I found myself grasping for answer and clues throughout the film so that I could piece the events together. As we know, I was not rewarded with any of this, but I didn’t mind. Not knowing was half the fun.

Shortly after the film, my friend invited me to watch the premier of the remastered version of Oro, Plata, Mata. The same time this was showing, Paranormal Activity 4 was showing in another theater. While watching the Filipino classic film, I found myself being pulled in the direction of Paranormal Activity 4. I simply could not take the slow, dragging, dialogue-driven plot of Oro, Plata, Mata. I just wanted to indulge myself in my newfound appreciation for horror films. I didn’t say this however, because I didn’t want to appear uncultured. Imagine walking out of a supposed Filipino masterpiece to watch a movie about dead people and shallow thrills. Because of this stigma, I just sat through nearly four hours of utter boredom. I have never regretted anything so much Next time, I’ll just watch a horror movie. Who cares about the stigma.

Leave a Reply

