REC It Ralph

Foreign Horror movies with subtitles tend to have a prevailing impact on us— us Filipinos or us people who speak English. Even just as the movie began and the language barrier was established, I for one made a comment to myself that maybe this film will be extra scary. It keeps our eyes glued to the screen the whole time, and for some, closed during the graphic bloody scenes. The method of taping chosen for this movie also made movie-watching experience and story feel realistic, which for me was very effective despite the dizziness it had caused me a few times. The local reporter, although doing her job as a journalist documenting the truth, was painfully loud with her Spanish words piercing through my ears and hurting my head. Add to that the many layers of people screaming during several scenes. Although I myself was very caught up in the film and screaming along with everyone else, several moments in the film were predictable. That’s once tricky part about horror films. Everyone will be trying to predict the culprit or the cause of everything. There was even a point my seatmate Amanda and I predicted the old man left in the Asian woman’s room was also a zombie, but sadly we never actually found out what had happened to him. The only comedic break I had from the film was the short scene wherein the Asian woman was being interviewed and speaking fluent Spanish. (Oh, the irony.)

After all the suspense that had occurred in the first 30 minutes of the film, there was around 10-15 minutes of composure but at the same time a good tactic in good Horror films because it keeps the audience more watchful of what could possibly lurking around the corner waiting to surprise us in the next second. These idle moments were actually the worst. All the deaths happening one after the other, just as sir said, was getting us excited because the story was going somewhere and the predictable ending would be for everyone to get infected and die. It was finally the kind of Horror film, I think, most of us were expecting to see— the type that would lead us to constant shouting and uncontrollable loud comments in between scenes, a movie wherein everyone just dies in the end. The only question in my mind was if and how the policemen and scientists were able to put a stop to the mutating-contagious disease.

As much as my racing heart and I loved the movie, there was no profundity to the story. It didn’t leave me torn between decisions that would change the course of my life, unlike the last few movies we watched. The entrapment element in this movie was very perceptible. It’s definitely a story that interrupts our daily patterns, as seen how the storyline shifts from at first being a documentation of firemen’s night lives on a “regular” shift. As shallow as I am, I fairly enjoyed the film because I was able to do some shouting that I’ve been preparing myself for since day 1.

Leave a Reply

