G I N G E R S N A P S

At first, when had given the introduction of the movie whilst mentioning the title of it, for some reason, I imagined the sisters, the two main characters, to be blonde and ditzy and maybe even slightly promiscuous. Imagine my surprise when the characters were actually introduced to me and the rest of the class.

The relationship between Ginger and Brigitte is another puzzlingly intense one. Like Grace, it focuses on a disturbingly close relationship between two women, this time, between two sisters. Both Ginger and Brigitte are the outcasts of their school, both incredibly distant from their parents and both only have each other. From cradle to grave, they wanted to be there for one another. This in itself was slightly horrifying for me because I was always a believer in “everything in moderation”.

I was never really a fan of werewolf movies (maybe because Twilight kinda ruined it for me) but Ginger Snaps wasn’t exactly fortunate enough to be an exception. Based on just my over-all impression of the movie, it didn’t compare at all to Triangle or Cabin In The Woods in terms of how deeply it had actually horrified me. To be fair, though, it’s hard to deny that it did slightly horrified me because coming-of-age stories like this don’t take me back to my cringe-worthy days of puberty. In that regard, Ginger Snaps did kind of get under my skin. If 13 year old me was watching this movie, I’d be deeply disturbed. It touches on a lot of issues that were problematic to every child going through puberty and exaggerated it to a horrifying degree. The transformation showed in this movie wasn’t just Ginger’s transformation from a human to a werewolf but from a girl to a woman. Using her transformation from man to beast was an interesting, and largely accurate, symbolism for both sister’s coming-of-age experience. From the beginning of the movie, neither seem interested in boys, in experimenting, in growing up or even living long enough to become grown up. The symbolism of the werewolf aspect doesn’t just symbolize the slow and grueling nature of the experience of puberty but that puberty, more often than not, comes at you unexpectedly. For Ginger it may have been the werewolf bite and from Brigitte possibly the introduction of Sam into the mix. In addition to this, I also think that by Brigitte saying that she would rather die than be like Ginger, it was also symbolizing how some girls are really not ready to grow up, or even refuse to do so. But as we all saw it happen to Brigitte, it catches up with us all eventually. If i were, again, a 13 year old girl repressing her denial of everything adult, then this would definitely hit a horrifying spot.

Ginger Snaps would definitely fall under the category of Psychological Horror. Ginger, from when she got bitten until she had completed her transformation, was the human/superhuman monster that represented that part of all of us that was scared to grow up. Or even for adults, I think she could symbolize a fear of change, of moving from a state of familiarity to a state of unfamiliarity. In that regard, I think Ginger Snaps will definitely, though subtly, find its way under a lot of people’s skin.

Leave a Reply

