Rec 2

My biases and expectations of the sequel of Rec 2 were fully met however; there was some sort of difficulty within myself to reconcile the combination of science and faith in looking at the causes of the so-called infection. Usually, one can notice the separations of the logic that is imposed on the cause of a haunting or the existence of a monster. For example, a story about a ghost can have a supernatural logic like a woman who was frustrated with her unreciprocated love kills herself and haunts the walls of a castle. On the other hand a more not so supernatural or more scientific approach would be for example, the cause of a psychopath’s killing is his psychological imbalance that was a result of his abuse as a kid. Here in rec, it was a bit unclear to me whether the cause of the so-called infection was indeed a spiritual one or more of a biological one. At the end of the first movie, I thought that the zombie virus was just a biological phenomenon that was mistaken to be more supernatural one by the religious sect and then further investigated only to find that it was indeed more of a virus instead of possession. Surprisingly, the second movie sheds a light on the matter by marrying the two causes in what to me was a hard to mesh causality. The infection was in fact a possession that could be passed on from one person to another in a biological means instead of a spiritual type. Moreover, once the possession type virus has infected you, you can now be used as a medium for communicating with the actual demon that was causing all the possession. There was even a portion where the blood that would be used to be a possible vaccine was tested through means of prayer after which it caught fire.  This begs the question then of whether it was quite logical to have a vaccine for demonic possessions. Perhaps, in this case, the biological means by which the possession was transferred could be an avenue to make a vaccine, but that was still quite questionable to me as an audience. This makes me think of the extent to which a horror film can be creative in terms of making the logical plotlines. When is it too much of pushing the boundaries or whether it is even possible to round up or tie up the two together?

 

While I liked the film overall, it had me quite jilted in my seat a few times, I found that it was a bit unsuccessful in marrying biology and spirituality in order to explain the phenomenon. In my personal opinion, I would have liked it if they stuck more to having one or the other as the basis for the whole plotline. I thought the knitting of the story wasn’t as seamless because the interplay of the two factors weren’t integrated as well for me. But again, I still think the film was still a good horror film, something I would actually consider watching a second time around. 

Leave a Reply

