Happy Halloween

I have never seen Halloween before because I considered it to be in the same category as the Scream or the I Know What You Did film series. After watching these types of films, I have made it a point to never watch them again unless I need to because they are too repetitive and stereotypical without it intending to be, like The Cabin in the Woods. These types of movies were really popular in the late 90’s to the early 2000’s.

After looking up Halloween on the Internet, I found out that it was a reboot of some sorts of a franchise created back in 1978 which makes it parallel to the suspiciously similar Jason Voorhees film series that was created at almost the same time. It was probably a good thing that this was the very first film I have watched of the franchise and the first of this genre after a long while because this horror film class has enabled me to look at these types of films in a new perspective. Unlike the common slasher film which normally places the protagonists in the path of an unknown killer, Halloween actually explains how and why Michael Myers became the iconic killer of the series. As I have said before in my past reviews, explaining the story in a logical manner is a big factor of how I review a film.

It may be because I have never really understood the appeal of slasher films in the past enough to notice its elements but as I was watching the scene where the psychologist was trying to explain Michael’s behavior, it dawned upon me that it was the lack of emotion the killer evokes through his mask that made it the defining icon of the film series. Just think, if we place ourselves in the shoes of the would-be victim, that impassive face must be the most horrifying thing you would ever see before you die. Michael Myers was a child that grew up in an environment that was both violent and repressive. He had certain expectations to meet. He did not like them but he had to put up with it with a straight face. This was a prelude to his obsession with masks. When his mind finally snapped, it was on Halloween, hence the title. As if that coincidence was not enough, he also breaks out of the mental facility on the day before Halloween to continue his murders. This film was different from the previous movies we watched in class because it takes on the point of view of the antagonist.  I was able to understand the reason why Michael committed those murders and I was able to sympathize with him, even just for a bit. When his face was still shown onscreen, I could still see a hint of emotion when he was talking to the doctor, but we do not get to see his adult face because he had his mask on the entire time. I think this was done to clearly define that Michael was the antagonist of this film. I would like to think that Michael did not entirely lose his sanity because his actions towards his younger sister indicated that he was somehow attached to her. When his sister was still a baby, Michael could have killed her but he did not.  Then again, she did not really do anything to abuse Michael, unlike his stepfather and sister. If we look at this movie objectively, it is really just about an individual trying to strike back at an environment that was hostile to him.

Leave a Reply

