(B O N U S) Z O M B I E L A N D

I went searching for a movie that I could write about for extra credit in the list of the 100 Best Horror Films of All Time on IMDB. I had already written about The Shining, so I thought that I had the right to pick something a lot less scary, but sadly, as I did this, I picked something a lot less interesting, too.

Zombieland was not so much a legitimate horror movie as it was a rom-com with zombies. It follows a shy and friendless “Columbus” as he tries to survive the zombie apocalypse that has taken over America. Along the way, he meets “Tallahassee”, a violent zombie-killing twinkie-addict and “Wichita” and her younger sister “Little Rock”, also survivors headed to Pacific Playland. The story revolves around these four characters as they fight to stay alive and uninfected whilst learning to trust one another on their journey.

It’s not hard to notice that the movie relied mainly on the four main characters – their quirks, their interactions with one another. Aesthetically, it was great. The zombies were both believable and frightening, but they were merely extras. The plot was quite shallow and has nothing more than a cute moral lesson at the end. Take out the zombies and what you have is a cheesy B movie that barely makes any money at the box office.

Emma Stone’s character, “Whichita”, portrays more of the stereotypical horror movie female than an abject or one possessing power-in-difference. They start off by introducing her as strong-willed and independent but culminate with her as the damsel-in-distress, significant only to give opportunity to the main male character to be the hero, to be the stereotypical horror movie male.

Basically, I am surprised it found its way to IMDB’s 100 Best Horror films because I barely even consider it worthy of being considered a horror movie at all let along one of the best of it’s supposed genre. But I guess that’s wha t I get from picking the least scary-looking poster in the line-up.

Sometimes, I really believe Holloywood doesn’t do enough justice to the horror genre. It lacks a lot in depth what it tries to make up with aesthetics.

Leave a Reply

