Halloween

In most slasher films that I was able to watch, a killer simply pops out of nowhere and starts killing people. We are given very little knowledge of the killer’s past which is, to me, sometimes disappointing. The viewers are oftentimes left clueless as to why the killer kills people. We do not know if it is just for fun, or if it is for revenge, or for any other reason. In the film “Halloween”, we are first shown how Michael Myers, a seemingly harmless kid, evolve into a ruthless killing machine. In my opinion, being able to see the past of Michael Myers is a good addition to the film as it answers most of my questions on how the monster was created. At the beginning of the film, we are already able to see that Michael has violent tendencies when he kills his pet rats. Adding to this tendency is perfect environment for the creation of a monster; being always bullied or neglected by the people around him. In his young age, Michael already murdered his entire family except for his mother and his little sister leading him to be brought to a mental hospital. Years after entering the mental hospital, he is shown to be big and literally monstrous. As he escapes the hospital, he kills everyone in his path. The story then shifts to three teenage girls who would eventually fall victim to Michael. This shift, to me, was a bit sudden and rough, appearing as if the film was made up of two separate films. I, despite liking the fact that we were shown Michael’s past, thought that discussing his past took quite some time. Due to this, I felt a bit bored at the first half of the film. In the second half, the movie became your typical slasher film where a masked killer walks around and kills everyone in town. It also followed the stereotypical slasher film in which a female protagonist would survive against all odds in the end. Watching the film gave a similar feeling with watching other slasher films such as Friday the 13th and Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Halloween, Friday the 13th and Texas Chainsaw Massacre all had masked killers walking around all killing everyone in sight. This is probably the reason why I had a neutral feeling on the film. The film was pretty exciting at times, however, as I was watching it, I kept saying to myself that I know where these scenes are headed. It is the fact that I have already seen the story line of Halloween in other films that I have watched that made me feel as if the film is just slightly modified copy of other slasher films. As mentioned earlier, the only think that I appreciated from this film is that they presented the monster’s past. By seeing him as a child at first, we are able to get the idea that the monster is just a human being rather than a supernatural one.

Leave a Reply

